← All alternatives Comparison

BoothDock or Touchpix? The honest comparison

Touchpix is a photo booth software for almost any platform – from iOS and Android to Linux and Raspberry Pi – with unlimited devices per licence and GoPro support. BoothDock comes from Germany, runs on Windows, iPad, iPhone and Mac and charges per booth. Here they stand side by side – with figures from the vendors' websites.

Start for free Download on the App Store

In short

Touchpix fits if you run many devices or Android, Linux and Raspberry Pi, work with GoPros, send pictures by SMS or WhatsApp or operate a mirror booth. BoothDock fits if you run one to a handful of booths on Windows or Apple, need hosting in Germany with a DPA, want to start for free and serve guests in 24 EU languages. You take your templates with you as frame PNGs.

Side by side

Feature Touchpix BoothDock
Price for 1 booth, per year €471.13/year (PhotoPass, €39.26/month billed yearly; photo and AI photo, 2 active events). Video, slow motion and boomerang only from MultiPass: €942.47/year. €0 (Free, 1 booth, watermark) or €168/year (Pro, €14/month billed yearly, 2 booths included)
Price for 2 booths, per year €471.13/year – devices are unlimited, active events are counted (PhotoPass 2) €168/year (Pro, 2 booths included)
Price for 5 booths, per year €471.13/year with at most 2 simultaneous events; for 5 simultaneous events MultiPass Pro €1,507.96/year (8 events) €420/year (Pro: €14 + 3 × €7 per month, up to 50 booths)
Platforms iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux, Raspberry Pi – one licence for all Windows 10/11 (x64), iPad and iPhone (iOS 17+), Mac (macOS 14+)
Cameras GoPro HERO 7 to 13 (and Mission 1/Pro), Canon, Nikon and Sony DSLR with live view, iPhone/iPad, Android Windows: Canon, Nikon, Sony (over 150 bodies listed by name), webcam. iPad/iPhone/Mac: Canon and Sony via USB, built-in camera, USB webcam. No Nikon on Apple, no GoPro.
Capture modes Photo, AI photo, boomerang, video, GIF, slow motion, 360, AI face replace, background removal offline; video, slow motion and boomerang only from MultiPass Photo, burst, GIF, boomerang, video, 360° with slow motion, green screen, AI cut-out without a screen (on device), AI style transfer (35 styles)
Printing Print server on Mac or Windows; HiTi, DNP, SwiftFoto; direct USB printing from M-chip iPads; jumbo strips via Printpix/WCM; stickers via PixCut (Android) Windows: any driver, 2-inch cut, several printers with load sharing, calibration, DNP media level. iPad: AirPrint without a dialog, DNP via WCM. Mac: DNP directly over USB without a driver.
Sharing and gallery E-mail, SMS, WhatsApp, Facebook, Twitter, download, QR, AirDrop; "Scanpix" for QR sharing without internet; live gallery; cloud and sharing included, 6 months of storage; own domain: not stated QR code with short link, QR card, e-mail with your logo, AirDrop (Apple), online gallery with slideshow and live mode, your own address name.boothdock.cloud. No SMS or WhatsApp sending.
Offline operation "Everything works offline" with queuing; QR sharing offline via Scanpix Up to 30 days without internet, then catch-up sync
Hosting, GDPR, DPA not stated – privacy and terms pages were not reachable on 24 October 2026 Germany (IONOS, ISO 27001). DPA in the Hub, sub-processors IONOS, Microsoft Ireland, Stripe Ireland. Retention 90 to 730 days.
Languages 13 (English, Arabic, Dutch, Filipino, French, German, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish) 24 EU languages: app, Hub, gallery, guest screens and website
Free trial 14-day trial on request. No free plan. Free plan for good; Pro 14 days without payment details, then back to Free automatically

Calculated from the yearly prices on the website in euros: PhotoPass €471.13, MultiPass €942.47, MultiPass Pro €1,507.96, Enterprise €2,356.19. Touchpix does not limit devices but simultaneously active events (2/4/8/12); the tier therefore depends on how many booths stand at different events on the same day. On the App Store, "Professional" costs $879.99 a year. The paywall at the booth costs 7.5 % per transaction (Enterprise 5 %).

Trademarks belong to their owners. Figures as published on the vendor's website, retrieved 24 October 2026, without guarantee. "Not stated" means: not published on the vendor's website. Dollar prices as shown by the vendor, not converted; taxes as stated there. BoothDock prices are final prices (German small-business rule, § 19 UStG).

Where Touchpix is ahead

  • Many devices at a fixed price. Devices are unlimited; whoever spreads ten booths over two events pays €471.13 a year. BoothDock costs €7 a month more from the third booth.
  • Platforms. iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux and Raspberry Pi with one licence. BoothDock: Windows, iPad, iPhone, Mac.
  • GoPro. GoPro HERO 7 to 13 are supported. In BoothDock, GoPro is a preview only and not released.
  • SMS, WhatsApp, Facebook. Touchpix also sends by SMS, WhatsApp and Facebook. BoothDock shares by QR, e-mail and AirDrop.
  • Mirror booth, overlays, paywall. Seven mirror booth themes, over 300 overlays, 60 filters, Bluetooth trigger for 360 and a paywall with a transaction fee.

Where BoothDock is ahead

  • Price with one to five booths. €168 a year for two booths, €420 for five – and video, boomerang and 360° are always included. At Touchpix, video and boomerang start at €942.47 a year.
  • Hosting stated clearly. Gallery and Hub at IONOS in Germany, DPA in the Hub, retention periods published. Touchpix states nothing on this; the legal pages were not reachable.
  • Free plan. BoothDock can be used free for good (1 booth, watermark) and Pro tested for 14 days without payment details. Touchpix offers a 14-day trial on request.
  • 24 EU languages. All 24 official EU languages in app, gallery, Hub and guest screens. Touchpix has 13 languages, several of them outside Europe, but for example no Polish, Czech or Swedish.
  • Printing without a print server. On Windows any driver with 2-inch cut and load sharing across several printers, on the Mac DNP directly over USB, on the iPad AirPrint without a dialog.
  • Operation from afar. Remote maintenance with its own relay, watchdog with self-healing, silent night update on Windows, BoothDock Station, guest data with consent log and CSV export.

Switching: what you can take with you

BoothDock does not read a Touchpix template format. You can still take most things with you.

  • Overlays as PNG or JPG. Export your overlays as an image with transparent windows; BoothDock Studio detects the photo windows automatically. Without transparency, magenta areas count as windows.
  • Cameras. Canon, Nikon and Sony keep working on Windows, Canon and Sony on iPad and Mac. GoPros do not.
  • Printers. DNP, HiTi and Citizen run on Windows via the driver, DNP on the Mac directly over USB, on the iPad AirPrint or DNP via WCM.
  • Test first. Pro for 14 days without payment details, then Free automatically – Touchpix can keep running in parallel.

Frequently asked questions

Does BoothDock run on Android or Raspberry Pi like Touchpix?

No. BoothDock is available for Windows 10/11, iPad, iPhone and Mac. If you use Android, Linux or Raspberry Pi, Touchpix is the better fit.

Is Touchpix cheaper with many booths?

Often yes. Touchpix counts active events instead of devices: ten booths at two events cost €471.13 a year. BoothDock costs €840 a year for ten booths, but includes video, boomerang and 360° in every Pro plan and has a permanent free plan.

Where are the guest photos stored?

With BoothDock at IONOS in Germany, with the DPA in the Hub and published retention periods. Touchpix states nothing on this on its website; privacy and terms pages were not reachable on 24 October 2026.