← All alternatives Comparison

BoothDock or Snappic? The honest comparison

Snappic is an iPad photo booth software from Toronto focused on AI effects, microsites and SMS sharing in North America. BoothDock comes from Germany, runs on Windows, iPad, iPhone and Mac and charges per booth. Here they stand side by side – with figures from the vendors' websites.

Start for free Download on the App Store

In short

Snappic fits if you work in the USA or Canada, send pictures by SMS, want as many AI effects as possible and need features such as payments at the booth, client analytics or sub-accounts. BoothDock fits if you work with Windows PCs or mixed hardware, care about the price per booth, want guest data kept in Germany and serve guests in 24 EU languages. You take your templates with you as frame PNGs.

Side by side

Feature Snappic BoothDock
Price for 1 booth, per year $828/year (Starter $69/month, 1 booth + 1 sharing station; yearly plan 20 % cheaper according to the vendor, amount not listed). Business $189, Premium $279, Scale $399 per month. €0 (Free, 1 booth, watermark) or €168/year (Pro, €14/month billed yearly, 2 booths included)
Price for 2 booths, per year $1,296/year (Starter $69 + second booth licence $39 per month) €168/year (Pro, 2 booths included)
Price for 5 booths, per year $2,700/year (Starter $69 + 4 × $39 per month) €420/year (Pro: €14 + 3 × €7 per month, up to 50 booths)
Platforms iPad (iPadOS 13+), iPhone, Mac (M1+), Vision Pro. Windows and Android: not stated. Windows 10/11 (x64), iPad and iPhone (iOS 17+), Mac (macOS 14+)
Cameras "DSLR support"; release notes name select Sony DSLR and mirrorless. Canon and Nikon by name: not stated. Windows: Canon, Nikon, Sony (over 150 bodies listed by name), webcam. iPad/iPhone/Mac: Canon and Sony via USB, built-in camera, USB webcam. No Nikon on Apple, no GoPro.
Capture modes Photo, GIF, boomerang, video, 360 video, AI-FX and VideoFX, trading cards, magazine covers, headshots, green screen with AI, robot arm Photo, burst, GIF, boomerang, video, 360° with slow motion, green screen, AI cut-out without a screen (on device), AI style transfer (35 styles)
Printing Print server for professional printers, AirPrint mentioned. Details: not stated. Windows: any driver, 2-inch cut, several printers with load sharing, calibration, DNP media level. iPad: AirPrint without a dialog, DNP via WCM. Mac: DNP directly over USB without a driver.
Sharing and gallery SMS, e-mail, social, QR; microsites ($19/event in Starter); white-label URLs and e-mails from Premium; own domain: not stated. SMS and e-mail unlimited (fair use) in USA/Canada, other countries: not stated. QR code with short link, QR card, e-mail with your logo, AirDrop (Apple), online gallery with slideshow and live mode, your own address name.boothdock.cloud. No SMS or WhatsApp sending.
Offline operation Offline queue and offline background removal; length of offline operation: not stated Up to 30 days without internet, then catch-up sync
Hosting, GDPR, DPA Controller in Canada; storage provider in the USA; EU standard contractual clauses and EU-US Data Privacy Framework named. Content of the DPA page loads by script only: not stated. Germany (IONOS, ISO 27001). DPA in the Hub, sub-processors IONOS, Microsoft Ireland, Stripe Ireland. Retention 90 to 730 days.
Languages App Store: English only 24 EU languages: app, Hub, gallery, guest screens and website
Free trial 14 days free without credit card. No free plan. Free plan for good; Pro 14 days without payment details, then back to Free automatically

Calculation: monthly prices × 12, because Snappic only says "Save 20 %" for the yearly plan without amounts. Each tier includes one booth and one sharing station; additional booth licences cost $39 in Starter, $109 in Business, $119 in Premium per month. Add-ons such as green screen ($19/event), white label ($79) or webhooks ($19) are not included.

Trademarks belong to their owners. Figures as published on the vendor's website, retrieved 24 October 2026, without guarantee. "Not stated" means: not published on the vendor's website. Dollar prices as shown by the vendor, not converted; taxes as stated there. BoothDock prices are final prices (German small-business rule, § 19 UStG).

Where Snappic is ahead

  • AI breadth. AI-FX, VideoFX, trading cards, magazine covers, headshots – Snappic has clearly more AI variants. BoothDock offers AI cut-out without a screen and 35 AI styles.
  • SMS included. In the USA and Canada, SMS is included unlimited (fair use). BoothDock does not send SMS.
  • Business features. Payments at the booth, client analytics, sub-accounts, LiveConnect and Virtual Booth are on the pricing page.
  • Vision Pro and robot arm. Snappic also runs on the Vision Pro and drives robot arms.
  • White label. From Premium, gallery addresses and e-mails run entirely without the Snappic name; BoothDock shows your own address under boothdock.cloud.

Where BoothDock is ahead

  • Price. €168 a year for two booths, €7 a month for each additional one. Snappic starts at $69 a month and charges $39 per additional booth.
  • Windows PCs. BoothDock runs on Windows 10/11, iPad, iPhone and Mac. Snappic lists Apple devices only; the site says nothing about Windows.
  • Cameras by name. Over 150 Canon, Nikon and Sony bodies on Windows, Canon and Sony on iPad and Mac. Snappic names select Sony models only.
  • Data in Germany. Gallery and Hub at IONOS in Germany, DPA in the Hub. According to its privacy policy, Snappic stores in the USA.
  • 24 languages instead of one. App, guest screens, gallery and Hub in 24 EU languages. Snappic: English.
  • Free plan, 30 days offline, printing. Permanent free plan, up to 30 days without internet, on Windows any printer with 2-inch cut and load sharing across several devices.

Switching: what you can take with you

BoothDock does not read a Snappic template format. You can still take most things with you.

  • Frames as PNG or JPG. Export your overlays as an image with transparent windows; BoothDock Studio detects the photo windows automatically. Without transparency, magenta areas count as windows.
  • iPad and camera. Your iPad stays the booth; Sony and Canon keep working tethered, on iPad as on Mac.
  • Gallery included. Online gallery with your own address, slideshow and e-mail with your logo are part of the Pro plan – no surcharge per event.
  • Test first. Pro for 14 days without payment details, then Free automatically – Snappic can keep running in parallel.

Frequently asked questions

Does BoothDock run on the iPad like Snappic?

Yes, BoothDock Studio is on the App Store for iPad, iPhone and Mac (iOS 17 or macOS 14 or newer) – and additionally for Windows 10/11.

Does BoothDock have SMS sharing like Snappic?

No. BoothDock shares by QR code with a short link, e-mail with your logo and AirDrop. If you need SMS, especially in North America, Snappic is the better fit.

What does BoothDock cost with five booths compared to Snappic?

BoothDock Pro: €420 a year (€14 plus 3 × €7 per month). Snappic Starter: $2,700 a year with monthly billing ($69 plus 4 × $39 per month); the yearly plan is 20 % cheaper according to the vendor, the site does not list amounts.