← All alternatives Comparison

BoothDock or Booth.Events? The honest comparison

Booth.Events is a photo booth software from Canada for iPad, iPhone and Mac with a web dashboard, worldwide SMS sharing and a selectable hosting region. BoothDock comes from Germany, also runs on Windows and charges per booth. Here they stand side by side – with figures from the vendors' websites.

Start for free Download on the App Store

In short

Booth.Events fits if you use a GoPro, send pictures worldwide by SMS, want galleries under your own domain or use many iPhones as extra devices. BoothDock fits if you use Windows PCs or mix Windows and Apple, care about the price per booth, want all data kept in Germany and serve guests in 24 EU languages. You take your templates with you as frame PNGs.

Side by side

Feature Booth.Events BoothDock
Price for 1 booth, per year €588/year (Basic €49/month, 1 iPad/Mac or iPhone; no yearly price listed). Pro €69/month, Pro+ €119/month or €1,199/year. 1-week pass €19. €0 (Free, 1 booth, watermark) or €168/year (Pro, €14/month billed yearly, 2 booths included)
Price for 2 booths, per year €887/year (Basic €588 + one additional iPad/Mac €299/year) €168/year (Pro, 2 booths included)
Price for 5 booths, per year €1,498/year (Pro+ Annual €1,199 for 4 iPads/Macs + one additional device €299/year) €420/year (Pro: €14 + 3 × €7 per month, up to 50 booths)
Platforms iPad, iPhone, Mac (iOS/iPadOS 17.2+, macOS 14.2+ with M1+), web dashboard. No Windows, no Android. Windows 10/11 (x64), iPad and iPhone (iOS 17+), Mac (macOS 14+)
Cameras Canon EOS, Nikon, Sony via USB; iPad and iPhone camera; GoPro HERO Black from 9 (wired or wireless) Windows: Canon, Nikon, Sony (over 150 bodies listed by name), webcam. iPad/iPhone/Mac: Canon and Sony via USB, built-in camera, USB webcam. No Nikon on Apple, no GoPro.
Capture modes Photo, GIF, slow motion, boomerang, video testimonial, 360 spinner with auto-start, AI Portraits (160+ styles), AI Prompts, glam filter, background change also offline Photo, burst, GIF, boomerang, video, 360° with slow motion, green screen, AI cut-out without a screen (on device), AI style transfer (35 styles)
Printing AirPrint (incl. PWG); USB printing to DNP, Citizen, HiTi and Liene on supported iPads; CUPS/Print.Events; print limit per guest Windows: any driver, 2-inch cut, several printers with load sharing, calibration, DNP media level. iPad: AirPrint without a dialog, DNP via WCM. Mac: DNP directly over USB without a driver.
Sharing and gallery AirDrop, QR, e-mail (unlimited, no third-party account), SMS (Basic: USA + 4 countries; Pro/Pro+: worldwide with exceptions); online gallery with slideshow and ZIP; own domain in Pro+; Google Drive, Dropbox, SmugMug QR code with short link, QR card, e-mail with your logo, AirDrop (Apple), online gallery with slideshow and live mode, your own address name.boothdock.cloud. No SMS or WhatsApp sending.
Offline operation Offline queue and background change offline; length of offline operation: not stated Up to 30 days without internet, then catch-up sync
Hosting, GDPR, DPA DPA with EU standard contractual clauses (Irish law). Guest data optionally in USA, Canada or Germany (Frankfurt, Google Cloud); operator data always USA; sub-processors include Vercel, Sentry, Amazon SES, Twilio; AI services not region-bound. Germany (IONOS, ISO 27001). DPA in the Hub, sub-processors IONOS, Microsoft Ireland, Stripe Ireland. Retention 90 to 730 days.
Languages 12 (English, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Indonesian, Italian, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, Vietnamese) 24 EU languages: app, Hub, gallery, guest screens and website
Free trial "Try it FREE", length: not stated. No free plan. AI Portraits as beta: 8 USD per 100 credits. Free plan for good; Pro 14 days without payment details, then back to Free automatically

Calculated from the euro list prices shown in Germany: Basic is monthly only (€49), an additional iPad or Mac costs €35/month or €299/year; Pro+ Annual (€1,199) covers four iPads/Macs. iPhones are unlimited in Pro and Pro+ and not counted as booths here. Whether prices include tax, the site does not say.

Trademarks belong to their owners. Figures as published on the vendor's website, retrieved 24 October 2026, without guarantee. "Not stated" means: not published on the vendor's website. Dollar prices as shown by the vendor, not converted; taxes as stated there. BoothDock prices are final prices (German small-business rule, § 19 UStG).

Where Booth.Events is ahead

  • GoPro. GoPro HERO Black from generation 9, wired or wireless. In BoothDock, GoPro is a preview only and not released.
  • SMS worldwide. In Pro and Pro+, Booth.Events sends SMS worldwide (with exceptions), e-mail is unlimited in all plans. BoothDock does not send SMS.
  • Own customer domain. In Pro+, galleries run under your own domain. BoothDock offers your own address under boothdock.cloud.
  • Unlimited iPhones. From Pro, iPhones do not count as devices. In BoothDock every device is a booth.
  • More AI styles and integrations. AI Portraits with over 160 styles, AI Prompts, remote access from the browser, surveys, LED control, Zapier/IFTTT, Google Drive, Dropbox and SmugMug.

Where BoothDock is ahead

  • Price. €168 a year for two booths, €7 a month for each additional one. Booth.Events Basic costs €49 a month for one device, each additional iPad or Mac €299 a year.
  • Windows. BoothDock runs on Windows 10/11, iPad, iPhone and Mac. Booth.Events is for Apple devices only.
  • All data in Germany. Gallery and Hub at IONOS in Germany, DPA in the Hub. Booth.Events stores guest data in Frankfurt on request, operator data stays in the USA.
  • 24 languages instead of 12. App, guest screens, gallery and Hub in all 24 EU languages.
  • Free plan and 30 days offline. Permanent free plan, up to 30 days without internet with catch-up sync. Booth.Events names no free plan and no offline duration.
  • Printing on Windows and Mac. On Windows any driver with 2-inch cut and load sharing across several printers, on the Mac DNP directly over USB without a vendor driver.

Switching: what you can take with you

BoothDock does not read a Booth.Events template format. You can still take most things with you.

  • Frames as PNG or JPG. Export your templates as an image with transparent windows; BoothDock Studio detects the photo windows automatically. Without transparency, magenta areas count as windows.
  • iPad, Mac and cameras. Your Apple devices stay; Canon and Sony keep working tethered. Nikon runs in BoothDock on Windows only.
  • Printers. AirPrint on the iPad without a dialog, DNP via the WCM network adapter; on the Mac DNP directly over USB.
  • Test first. Pro for 14 days without payment details, then Free automatically – Booth.Events can keep running in parallel.

Frequently asked questions

Does BoothDock support a GoPro like Booth.Events?

No. In BoothDock, GoPro is a preview only and not released. Supported are Canon, Nikon (Windows) and Sony tethered, built-in cameras and USB webcams.

Where are the guest photos stored with each?

BoothDock: at IONOS in Germany, with the DPA in the Hub. Booth.Events: optionally in the USA, Canada or Frankfurt; according to the vendor, operator data is always in the USA.

What does BoothDock cost with five devices compared to Booth.Events?

BoothDock Pro: €420 a year (€14 plus 3 × €7 per month). Booth.Events: €1,498 a year (Pro+ Annual €1,199 for four iPads/Macs plus €299 for one additional device), iPhones unlimited there.